6 months, 17 days

It’s been a good day all round. I’ve enjoyed the return of my favourite TV programme ever (LOST), now in it’s fourth season, and I’ve been to University where my final year project supervisor continued to be encouraging and enthusiastic about my work. The hardest part of the project is coming up soon, when I have to go round asking people to fill in my questionnaires. The main purpose of my going in today was to get multiple copies of the questionnaire pack printed out. It’s the easiest way to do the research that I’m doing.

The aim to is get 100 people to do the questionnaire, though if I can only find 80 or 90 people in the end that’s fine. It’s not exactly a short questionnaire, so the task could be quite difficult. I’m worried, but I’m not absolutely terrified like I would have been before. I’m comforted by the knowledge that everyone else in my year is going through the same thing at the moment. I already know of at least ten people who will happily do my questionnaire, because I’ll be doing theirs at some point.

That’s about all for today. Oh, when I got home and had finished watching Lost, I returned to the other novel that I started writing last year after I got sober, the one about the end of the world. It was a very tentative return, as I don’t really have the time to go full-on with it at the moment. But it was a return nonetheless, very exciting. It’s unusual for me to feel the creative urge like this, so soon after my last writing spurt. To feel excited about two very different novels at the same time is really weird for me.

I have no idea how long either story could take to finish; there really is no rush. A lot of improvement needs to be made to both, I know, but that doesn’t bother me. For first drafts, I still think they’re pretty good. I’ve been wondering if I should print something of them here, the first chapter of one of them maybe. That would be interesting. Well, I think I’ll leave it until I’ve finished one of the books properly, until I’m sure that I’m really happy with it.

Leave a Reply

