The time of my life

I’m having a great weekend. I have just been on a fabulous date. Having opened up my mind to the possibility of meeting people without instantly getting into clingy, co-dependent relationships, I feel freer to enjoy myself. The guy I met today was gorgeous, intelligent and easy to talk to, and we shared a great kiss at the end of the evening. Every now and then I feel the old co-dependent feelings coming up, worried that he won’t text or call any more because he’s suddenly lost interest. It’s like this with everyone I meet, it’s just the way I am, but I find it easier to detach from those feelings after a while now.

 Ever since I finished step 5 with my sponsor, everything’s been generally better for me. I’m finally starting to believe that I might have a good life ahead of me. I feel less anxious and more confident in my own skin than I ever did before. It’s been a great few months for me, really. I’ve had a drag night out; I’ve been on holiday twice, once on my own, and had a fabulous time. I’ve met lots of people, shared loads in meetings, faced new challenges and now I am finally doing things that I’ve always wanted to do. I can’t complain about my life today, though of course there are imperfections. There always are, and I can deal with them. I feel this has all come from doing the steps. Last year I wouldn’t have had the courage to do a lot of the things that I’m doing now. The best thing is being able to walk down the street with my head held high. I like being myself, for the first time. I don’t get nervous in nearly as many situations today as I always did before. This is happy, joyous serenity. THe anxiety will come back, I know it will because my moods change like the weather. But everything’s OK, and it probably always will be, no matter what happens to me. How great is that?

One thought on “The time of my life

Leave a Reply

