Change

Here’s a poem I wrote yesterday whilst sitting on a bench in Hyde Park, anxiously pondering the imminent change in my situation. It is called, simply, Change:

So sad I can’t enter the Serpentine
Can’t hum the tune to my favourite song
Fears grow
Tears build to a crescendo
Like pressure in a pipe valve
Now I have a job

“Go,” they said, “live your wildest dreams”

There is no recess in the recession
But it is where I’ve been, what I’ve known
Knowledge grows
Ideas form
I am not a child now

Weeping words cannot save me
Into the world I must break
Faith grows
Nourished by
Words from my favourite song
“Nothing’s gonna change my world
Nothing’s gonna change my world”

Leave a Reply

